Compassion International

May 27, 2010

A few years ago, when I first heard about the organization Compassion International (a Christian child advocacy ministry dedicated to helping children in poverty by matching them up with sponsors) I thought it would be an awesome thing to do one day. I was not in a financial situation where I felt I could commit to sponsoring a child each month. However, it kept coming up. I mean, like 3 times in a week I heard about this organization- in different places. Fliers were passed out at a Shane and Shane concert (side note, I LOVE them and highly encourage you to check out their music!) and both Shanes shared how sponsoring a child through Compassion Int’l changed their lives. I continued to think to myself “one day.”

For the past couple of years, I’ve kind of put that thought on the back burner. Lately, however, I’ve seen mentions of the organization creep back into my life through blogs I’ve been reading and God is stirring my heart again for these children. I perused the website and fell in love with so many faces of the children living in some of the poorest parts of the world. (check out the website here)

I sent Ron a text (because I was at school) asking him if we could seriously begin to pray about sponsoring a child through Compassion Int’l. We don’t have children of our own yet, but I definitely feel like this is a way God can use us to love on someone else’s child, while ensuring they are hearing about the gospel. Will you commit to praying with us as we pray through this decision? While it’s not a huge financial commitment at only $38, it is something we want to commit to for as long as the child needs us, in hopes of maybe meeting him or her someday.

Matthew 19:14 Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.”

2 Responses to “Compassion International”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Good for you! I have thought about it also. Obviously I it got put on my back burner.

  2. Andrea Says:

    ignore the extra i, i am typing with one hand.


Leave a Reply

